Carl Frampton was not shy with his view that Oleksandr Usyk should have been counted out during the defense of his WBA, WBO and IBF world titles against Daniel Dubois back in August and has not changed his mind since.
Former champion turned pundit Frampton was working on the broadcast for TNT Sports Box Office and immediately called the shot a legitimate low blow in the post-fight debate.
Speaking to Boxing News, he revisited the subject and reiterated his stance that he thinks it wasn’t low, much like one legendary referee.
“There have been a few whispers about how the fight ended and people criticising [Dubois] but that has been overshadowed by the blow about whether it was legal or illegal. I was strong with my opinions during the fight saying Daniel Dubois should be world champion by now ’cause the shot was legal. I still think the shot was OK.”
Frampton then went on to recognise that had Usyk have been given a count he could well have got up.
“Usyk just used this experience and sat it out cause he was hurt. That’s not a criticising Usyk, that’s a pretty genius move if you need a rest you take a rest but I still think [the shot] was OK. But in saying that if the referee has have started counted he would have got up.”
Frampton then posed one final question and doubted Dubois’s finishing ability.
“Would Daniel then have done enough to get rid? I’m not so sure.”
It is a debate that will rage on while one British heavyweight thinks he will be the next man to get a shot at all of Usyk’s titles.