Unified super lightweight champion Josh Taylor is the British Boxing Board of Control’s fighter of the year for 2020.

The consideration period ran from August 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020. Taylor beat fellow nominees Lyndon Arthur, Terri Harper, Anthony Joshua and Joe Joyce to win the award.

The BBBofC 2020 awards event was cancelled last year due to the ongoing pandemic affecting the UK. The winners were announced by the Board’s Twitter account on Monday.

“Thanks to everyone involved and everyone who voted for me,” said Taylor via Twitter.

“It’s a privilege to be the winner of this award and be amongst the many great names that are on this list from years gone by.”

Taylor follows in the footsteps of last year’s winner Callum Smith and will no doubt be in the running for the 2021 award should he beat Jose Ramirez to become undisputed super lightweight champion on May 22 in Las Vegas.

The Board’s fight of the year went to the epic tussle between Ted Cheeseman and Sam Eggington. Two men that are no stranger to barnstormers, the pair put on some jaw dropping exchanges during their fight last August. The pair beat Josh Taylor v Regis Prograis, Terri Harper v Natasha Jonas, Alexander Povetkin v Dillian Whyte I and Samir Ziani v Alex Dimaghani to pick up the accolade.

“Big congratulations to Sam Eggington and Ted Fisher for an absolute war,” Eggington’s trainer Jon Pegg wrote on Twitter.

“That was no surprise to anyone who knows both these warriors.”

Featured image: Queensbury Promotions